Thread: Throwing mechanics

Throwing mechanics

This is directed primarily at Chris O'Leary, but anyone is free to respond.

I've read briefly some of Chris' info on pitching mechanics, but I just wanted to know how much these mechanics pertain to positional players. As a softball coach, I get a lot of young girls who throw the ball like it is a dart, so we have to spend a lot of time teaching them to throw properly.

But what are proper throwing mechanics for a positional player, and how do they differ among the positions--outfield, infield, catcher?

What got me thing about this was Chris' explanation of hand position for the pitcher--that for a righty it should face 3rd base and not 2nd base as is commonly taught. In the past, when I teach outfielders to throw, I taught them to get more extension on the arm and to face the palm away from them (toward the fence). So I decided to go out and try it myself to see if that was what actually happened. Without videotaping it, I was observed having my hand in a position like the pitcher--facing to the side, not away from me.

Maybe I can eventually get some video......

Thoughts?
    MAXX Training - the latest on sports training & athletic performance! www.maxxtraining.com

How young are the players?

High school, tho we primarily use the remdial throwing instruction for our junior high kids when we first see them the summer before their freshman year.
    MAXX Training - the latest on sports training & athletic performance! www.maxxtraining.com

These quotes were from a previous long toss thread:

Quote Originally Posted by Deezeldogg