PDA

View Full Version : Questionable eBay Seller?


YankeeFan01
12-31-2006, 12:17 AM
I'm not saying that this seller is selling fake stuff, I'm asking your opinion on him/her. I'm kinda nervous because I just bought a Koufax auto from him for a pretty good buy-it-now price, and it seems like he's turning out tons of autos, all it incredibly cheap bin prices. Any thoughts?

His name:

autograph_r_us_33
http://myworld.ebay.com/autograph_r_us_33/

AutographCollector
12-31-2006, 12:20 AM
I'm not saying that this seller is selling fake stuff, I'm asking your opinion on him/her. I'm kinda nervous because I just bought a Koufax auto from him for a pretty good buy-it-now price, and it seems like he's turning out tons of autos, all it incredibly cheap bin prices. Any thoughts?

His name:

autograph_r_us_33
http://myworld.ebay.com/autograph_r_us_33/
I would say: don't buy from him/her. Why? Simple. Cheap prices with not a guarnteed COA (could just print one from his home computer. And check this out: http://cgi.ebay.com/AUTOGRAPH-SIGNED-AL-KALINE-8X10-PHOTO_W0QQitemZ130064075098QQihZ003QQcategoryZ2726 5QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
That's a signed Al Kaline 8x10. For a buck?!? Get real. Also his Mohammed Ali signed 8x10 is pretty cheap too.

YankeeFan01
12-31-2006, 01:04 PM
Yeah, I'm starting to have second thoughts. :(
Some people do start auctions at just .99 to not have to deal with high eBay fees, attract more eBayers, and because it'll probably end at the same amount that an auction starting at $25 would. I'm really worried about his BIN prices though, they seem way to cheap.

Thanks for your help so far.

YankeeFan01
12-31-2006, 01:08 PM
Here are some pictures of the Koufax auto that I bought:

YankeeFan01
01-01-2007, 03:15 PM
anyone else?

milladrive
01-02-2007, 02:27 PM
Well, to be honest, the only real thing to be suspicious about is the the seller's relative newbie status to eBay.

I realize AC said that COA's can be counterfeit, and he's correct. Thing is, every one of the seller's ads state they do not sell copies, preprints, or reprints, and that they've been in the autograph biz for 10 years. They also offer a 100% MBG. Yes, all of these statements could be false, but the fact that they're stated in the ad protects any buyers from false claims.

Therefore, if the COA is counterfeit, or anything stated in the ad is false, then the item can be officially considered NAD (not as described).

I would be apprehensive, but if there's something in this seller's repertoire you really desire (like the Koufax sig you bought), then I say go for it. BUT -- and this is very important -- always use a credit card through PayPal. Always. This way, if the item's NAD, then you're protected twice; once by PP, and once with your credit card company. I strongly recommend against direct payment with PP via your bank account. Doing so voids any cc protection.

Considering you bought this item just this past Friday (that was a great price, btw), I don't imagine you've received it yet. But I hope you'll let us know when you get it, and if you're satisfied.

YankeeFan01
01-02-2007, 07:00 PM
Yeah, I always pay through PayPal on eBay. I was just worried as to the really cheap by it now price. Thanks for the help, I'll tell you guys when I get it. He's kinda being slow to ship :(. He emailed me and said he'll send it out tomorrow.

milladrive
01-02-2007, 08:03 PM
Yeah, I always pay through PayPal on eBay.

Not just with PayPal, but with a credit card through PayPal. I emphasize this because PayPal, for whatever reason, encourages direct payment from your bank account and it has to be manually redirected for credit card use.

I wouldn't worry about the delay in shipping just yet. It's been a long busy holiday weekend (and with the flags at half-mast, the USPS had the day off today). At least there's been some communication.

Dunno why, but I have a decent feeling about this transaction. Good luck. :)

YankeeFan01
01-02-2007, 10:41 PM
Thanks, I'll keep you posted.

TRIPxCORE
01-03-2007, 07:45 PM
The seller has a 100% feedback rating which is excellent even though the seller is new and only has 19 feedback's. Apparently his customers are happy with what they're getting.

milladrive
01-03-2007, 08:26 PM
The seller has a 100% feedback rating which is excellent even though the seller is new and only has 19 feedback's. Apparently his customers are happy with what they're getting.

I think it's possible you've overlooked the fact that only 10 of those 19 feedbacks are from buyers. The other nine are from sellers.

There's more to judging an eBayer than just FB percentage.

ShortStop
01-03-2007, 08:32 PM
On eBay when you buy make sure the seller is a power seller. I would bever trust this newbies especially if their prices are too good to be true.

nwayz good luck mate, hope the plate gets to you soon.

milladrive
01-03-2007, 08:47 PM
On eBay when you buy make sure the seller is a power seller. I would bever trust this newbies especially if their prices are too good to be true.

I won't even justify that statement with a valid reply.

YankeeFan01
01-13-2007, 11:16 PM
Got it, but I'm not sure if it's real or not. I'm thinking about sending it in somewhere, but the fees + their prices for shipping/handling are pretty steep. I am kinda nervous though, cause he has a Jeter picture up that is incredibly cheap and looks incredibly fake.

The Jeter picture:

http://cgi.ebay.com/DEREK-JETER-SIGNED-8X10-PHOTO-GREAT-PIC-LOOK_W0QQitemZ130068916023QQihZ003QQcategoryZ27265 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

milladrive
01-14-2007, 03:05 AM
Got it, but I'm not sure if it's real or not. I'm thinking about sending it in somewhere, but the fees + their prices for shipping/handling are pretty steep. I am kinda nervous though, cause he has a Jeter picture up that is incredibly cheap and looks incredibly fake.

The Jeter picture:

http://cgi.ebay.com/DEREK-JETER-SIGNED-8X10-PHOTO-GREAT-PIC-LOOK_W0QQitemZ130068916023QQihZ003QQcategoryZ27265 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Does the COA look fake?

Either way, my suggestion is to bring it in to a sports memorabilia store in your area, preferably one that sells autographs. We have a chain here in the NY area called Last Licks, but I'm sure there are others in whatever area you're in. They'd most likely be able to verify it for you at no cost.

If by chance it turns out to be a fake, you can get your money back, either directly from the seller (the first course of attempt) or via eBay's NAD procedure.

If you need further assistance, feel free to PM me.

Paulmcall
01-14-2007, 07:03 PM
Unless you see someone autograph something, how can you be sure it wasn't someone else who did it?
I have had old timers (who were batboys years ago) tell me they signed tons of balls for players. One (in particular) still can sign a perfect autograph of many old Brooklyn Dodgers. I can get you a Pee Wee Reese right now for a few bucks.:laugh

Erik Bedard
01-14-2007, 07:26 PM
I dunno. I found two different Jeter signatures from googling "derek jeter signature". One is the one on that card. The other is this one: http://www.2429y.com/card/baseball/RipkenJeter.jpg

BTW, I'm not a handwriting expert, but Koufax was a lefty. That signature you've got slants severely to the right, which, IIRC, is not natural for a lefty. Of course, he did have those arm troubles... maybe he learned to write right handed.

Just some advice, don't sue based on this or anything.

EDIT: Check this out: http://www.musanim.com/mam/lefthand.htm. Does it look to you like the person who signed it turned the card, or is the ink smudged? Try tracing it with your left hand. Does it seem natural if you turn the paper? If not, then it might be a fake.